Skip to main content

Illinois Digital Archives

Add or remove other collections to your search:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: United Postal Co., Publishers
(17 results)



Display: 20

    • 4681  Baptist Church, Peoria, Ill

    • First Baptist Church (Peoria, Ill.); Churches, Protestant--Illinois; Baptist churches--Illinois--Peoria--1900-1920
    • This view is of the First Baptist Church at 1000 Hamilton Blvd., which was built in 1892. It was at the corner of Hamilton & Glen Oak St. This building was razed in 1959 after the congregation relocated to Lake Street in 1957.
    • 4669  Shopping District, Peoria, Ill.

    • Commercial buildings--Illinois--Peoria; Department stores--Illinois--Peoria; Streets--Illinois--Peoria--1900-1910
    • John F. Schipper and Henry C. Block founded Schipper & Block around 1879. It was located at 122-126 South Adams St. near Fulton St. Name was changed to Block & Kuhl in 1914. Currently this location is the Chase Bank building. The large red...
    • 4668 Bird's-Eye View of Peoria, Ill.

    • Streets--Illinois--Peoria; Streets--Illinois--Peoria--1900-1910
    • View looking NE on Adams Street toward downtown Peoria and the Illinois River. The County courthouse is on the left at 101 NE Adams Street, built in 1876. On the next corner north is the Hotel Mayer at 200 Hamilton. The large brick building to the...
    • 4680  Central Christian Church, Peoria, Ill.

    • Central Christian Church (Peoria, Ill.); Churches, Protestant--Illinois; Christian churches--Illinois--Peoria--1900-1920
    • This is the third location of First Christian Church, also known as Christian Chapel and Central Christian Church. It is located at 205-207 North Monroe on the corner with Fulton St. This building was built in 1894 and burned in 1913.
    • 4703 Union Depot, Peoria, Ill.

    • Historic buildings--Peoria (Ill.); Railroad depots; Railroad stations--Illinois--Pictorial works
    • In 1882, Union Station opened at the foot of State Street. It was a brick, two-story building, measuring 404 feet by 55 feet. The rail hub was the fourth largest in the U.S. In 1963, the building was destroyed by fire.
    • 4706 Mayer Hotel, Peoria, Ill.

    • Historic buildings--Peoria (Ill.); Historic hotels--Peoria (Ill.)
    • This 5 story brick hotel was built by David Mayer in 1907 at 200 NE Adams St. at the corner with Hamilton St. It was sold to two Chicago owners in 1955. On February 14, 1963 it burned to the ground with four people dying as a result of the fire. It...
    • 4683 G. A. R. Memorial Hall, Peoria. Ill

    • Grand Army of the Republic. Dept. of Illinois
    • The Grand Army of the Republic's hall was completed in 1909 due to the generous contributions of Joseph P. Greenhut. It is located at 416 Hamilton and was named Greenhut Memorial. It is cared for by the Central Illinois Landmark Foundation.
    • 4708 Niagara Hotel, Peoria, Ill.

    • Historic buildings--Peoria (Ill.); Historic hotels--Peoria (Ill.)
    • This hotel was built in early 1890's and was located at 108-110 SW Jefferson Avenue. It began as a three-story building in 1875, then in 1893 four more stories were added by William F. Becker. The building was demolished in 1968.
    • 4720 Scene in South Park, Peoria, Ill.

    • Parks--Illinois; South Park (Peoria, Ill.); Peoria (Ill.)--Peoria Park District; Park buildings--Illinois; Park districts--Illinois
    • This park is one of the four original parks in the Peoria Park District system in 1894. It was designed by W.W. Maloney, who also did much of the work turning it from a pasture to a park. The pavilion was build in 1913. It is located on Idaho St...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK