Skip to main content

Illinois Digital Archives

Add or remove other collections to your search:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Cook Memorial Public Library District
(580 results)



Display: 20

    • Village Restaurant

    • Cizek collection
    • Sometime around 1958 the Village Pantry, a small restaurant at 120 East Cook Street, closed, and the Village Restaurant pictured here opened across the street at 121 East Cook Street. The Village Restaurant was open from 5:45 a.m. to 8 p.m. and...
    • Coy Lumber Company

    • Cizek collection; Lumber mills; Lumber yards; Businesses
    • The Coy Lumber Company was located at 133 East Cook Avenue between Milwaukee Avenue and First Street. In addition to lumber, Coy sold feed, millwork, insulation, wall board, and roofing and building materials. The lumber yard also advertised...
    • Maxon Professional Building

    • Cizek collection ;
    • This building, located on East Cook Street, was built in the late 1950s by Don E. Maxon, a Libertyville attorney whose office was also located here. The building also housed offices for the Boehm & Ray Insurance Company and John S. Horner,...
    • Smitty's Body Shop

    • Cizek collection; Body shops (automobile)
    • Smitty's did a wide variety of automobile work, including repairing minor damages to auto bodies, repainting, refurbishing and washing cars. The business began in 1952 and in 1959 it moved to 510 North First Street to more a commodious location and...
    • Village Hall, Libertyville, Illinois

    • Cizek collection; Village hall; Village offices
    • Built in 1914, Libertyville's original village hall was located on West Cook Street. According to local historian Dean Larson, the village hall housed the fire station, jail, meeting rooms and the Alpha Club Library (the forerunner of Cook Memorial...
    • Hales Fabric Store

    • Cizek collection; Fabric stores;
    • This fabric store was located just east of Milwaukee Avenue on Cook Street. The store remained in business through the 1980s.
    • Motor Parts & Machine Company

    • Cizek collection; Automobile parts; Auto parts
    • This business supplied motor parts and machinery to wholesalers and manufacturers. They were in business in Libertyville from the 1940s to the late 1960s.
    • The Record Shop

    • Cizek collection; LPs; Record stores; Records; Phonographs
    • The Record Shop opened at 118 East Cook Avenue in 1956 just east of the Ace Hardware building on the north side of the street. They sold jazz, popular, classical, ethnic, western, folk and Latin American LP phonographs. Another store under the same...
    • Libertyville Fire Station

    • Cizek collection
    • Libertyville's local fire station was located just west of Milwaukee Avenue on Cook Street near the downtown area. A water tower can be seen through the trees in the top right-hand corner of this photograph. The fire department was born in...
    • Photo Lab Studio

    • Cizek collection; Photo studio
    • Located in a residence on the north side of Cook Street, this studio offered portraits, family and wedding photos, enlarging and other photographic services. It went out of business at this address when buildings in the area were razed to make room...
    • Felix's Tavern

    • Cizek collection; Taverns; The Island
    • This small tavern opened in 1949 at 114 East Cook Street and remained in business there until 1967. The owner/operator was Felix Antonevich. In 1967 he moved the bar to a free-standing building in back of the 114 East Cook Street location and the...
    • The Record Shop

    • Cizek collection; Phonograph stores; LPs; Record stores; Records; Phonographs
    • The Record Shop opened at 118 East Cook Avenue in 1956 just east of the Ace Hardware building on the north side of the street. They sold jazz, popular, classical, ethnic, western, folk and Latin American LP phonographs. Another store under the same...
    • Maxon Professional Building

    • Cizek collection ;
    • This building, located on East Cook Street, was built in the late 1950s by Don E. Maxon, a Libertyville attorney whose office was also located here. The building also housed offices for the Boehm & Ray Insurance Company and John S. Horner,...
    • Coy Lumber Company

    • Cizek collection; Lumber mills; Lumber yards; Businesses
    • The Coy Lumber Company was located at 133 East Cook Avenue between Milwaukee Avenue and First Street. In addition to lumber, Coy sold feed, millwork, insulation, wall board, and roofing and building materials. The lumber yard also advertised...
    • Village Pantry Restaurant

    • Cizek collection ;
    • The Village Pantry, a small restaurant on east Cook Street, advertised home cooking and take-out orders. They served breakfast and plate lunches and their specialties included home made pies and soups. They served spaghetti every Wednesday. One of...
    • Coy Lumber Company

    • Cizek collection; Lumber mills; Lumber yards; Businesses
    • The Coy Lumber Company was located at 133 East Cook Avenue between Milwaukee Avenue and First Street. In addition to lumber, Coy sold feed, millwork, insulation, wall board, and roofing and building materials. The lumber yard also advertised...
    • Libertyville Fire Station

    • Cizek collection
    • Libertyville's local fire station was located just west of Milwaukee Avenue on Cook Street near the downtown area. A water tower can be seen through the trees in the top right-hand corner of this photograph. The fire department was born in...
    • Scanlon's Paints

    • Cizek collection; Paint stores
    • Located at 113 East Cook Street, Scanlan's Paints sold a wide variety of paints and wallpaper, including O'Brien Paints, as well as art materials and wall and floor tile. They also offered an interior decoration service, Joanies' Interiors. They...
    • Libertyville Public Works Building

    • Cizek collection; Police departments
    • The building pictured here in 1956 occupied the site at 216 East Cook Street from about 1949 when Robert McCormick was superintendent of public works until 1969 or 1970, when the building was razed to make room for a new, enlarged public service...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK