Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Cook Memorial Public Library District, Libertyville
(409 results)



Display: 50

    • 205 West Cook Avenue

    • 205 W. Cook Ave.; residences;
    • Situated at the corner of Brainerd and Cook Avenues, this house was owned by Kenneth Lovell in the 1920s and 1930s. Kenneth Lovell was the son of Libertyville druggist F. B. Lovell and worked as a sales manager at American Wire Mills in...
    • Motor Parts & Machine Company

    • Cizek collection; Automobile parts; Auto parts
    • This business supplied motor parts and machinery to wholesalers and manufacturers. They were in business in Libertyville from the 1940s to the late 1960s.
    • Photo Lab Studio

    • Cizek collection; Photo studio
    • Located in a residence on the north side of Cook Street, this studio offered portraits, family and wedding photos, enlarging and other photographic services. It went out of business at this address when buildings in the area were razed to make room...
    • Libertyville Fire Station

    • Cizek collection
    • Libertyville's local fire station was located just west of Milwaukee Avenue on Cook Street near the downtown area. A water tower can be seen through the trees in the top right-hand corner of this photograph. The fire department was born in...
    • Libertyville Public Works Building

    • Cizek collection; Police departments
    • The building pictured here in 1956 occupied the site at 216 East Cook Street from about 1949 when Robert McCormick was superintendent of public works until 1969 or 1970, when the building was razed to make room for a new, enlarged public service...
    • Wedding Dresses--MacGuffin

    • Bridal Gowns
    • Mabelle Milne Peck wore this beautiful lace dress at her marriage to Paul MacGuffin on August 12, 1908. The ivory dress has applied embroidery over ivory satin with leg of mutton sleeves and a Bertha collar. The skirt is gored with a short train....
    • Wedding Dresses--MacGuffin

    • Bridal Gowns
    • Mabelle Milne Peck wore this beautiful lace dress at her marriage to Paul MacGuffin on August 12, 1908. The ivory dress has applied embroidery over ivory satin with leg of mutton sleeves and a Bertha collar. The skirt is gored with a short train....
    • Wedding Dresses--MacGuffin

    • Bridal Gowns
    • Mabelle Milne Peck wore this beautiful lace dress at her marriage to Paul MacGuffin on August 12, 1908. The ivory dress has applied embroidery over ivory satin with leg of mutton sleeves and a Bertha collar. The skirt is gored with a short train....
    • Wedding Dresses--MacGuffin

    • Bridal Gowns
    • Mabelle Milne Peck wore this beautiful lace dress at her marriage to Paul MacGuffin on August 12, 1908. The ivory dress has applied embroidery over ivory satin with leg of mutton sleeves and a Bertha collar. The skirt is gored with a short train....
    • Wedding Dresses--Mesenbrink

    • Bridal Gowns
    • Lydia Luecke wore this satin and lace cream-colored wedding dress at her marriage to Emil Mesenbrink on August 13, 1913. The dress was handmade by Lydia's sister Elsie. The wedding took place on Lydia's parents' farm near Sheboygan, Wisconsin. The...
    • Wedding Dresses--Mesenbrink

    • Bridal Gowns
    • Lydia Luecke wore this satin and lace cream-colored wedding dress at her marriage to Emil Mesenbrink on August 13, 1913. The dress was handmade by Lydia's sister Elsie. The wedding took place on Lydia's parents' farm near Sheboygan, Wisconsin. The...
    • Wedding Dresses--Mesenbrink

    • Bridal Gowns
    • Lydia Luecke wore this satin and lace cream-colored wedding dress at her marriage to Emil Mesenbrink on August 13, 1913. The dress was handmade by Lydia's sister Elsie. The wedding took place on Lydia's parents' farm near Sheboygan, Wisconsin. The...
    • Wedding Dresses--Mesenbrink

    • Bridal Gowns
    • Lydia Luecke wore this satin and lace cream-colored wedding dress at her marriage to Emil Mesenbrink on August 13, 1913. The dress was handmade by Lydia's sister Elsie. The wedding took place on Lydia's parents' farm near Sheboygan, Wisconsin. The...
    • Wedding Dresses--Mesenbrink

    • Bridal Gowns
    • Lydia Luecke wore this satin and lace cream-colored wedding dress at her marriage to Emil Mesenbrink on August 13, 1913. The dress was handmade by Lydia's sister Elsie. The wedding took place on Lydia's parents' farm near Sheboygan, Wisconsin. The...
    • Wedding Dresses--Mesenbrink

    • Bridal Gowns
    • Lydia Luecke wore this satin and lace cream-colored wedding dress at her marriage to Emil Mesenbrink on August 13, 1913. The dress was handmade by Lydia's sister Elsie. The wedding took place on Lydia's parents' farm near Sheboygan, Wisconsin. The...
    • Wedding Dresses--Mesenbrink

    • Bridal Gowns
    • Lydia Luecke wore this satin and lace cream-colored wedding dress at her marriage to Emil Mesenbrink on August 13, 1913. The dress was handmade by Lydia's sister Elsie. The wedding took place on Lydia's parents' farm near Sheboygan, Wisconsin. The...
    • Wedding Dresses--Nicholas

    • Bridal Gowns
    • This sheer dress, worn over a simple chemise, belonged to Ruth Wells. Ruth wore this dress at her marriage to Warren A. Nicholas on May 25, 1914. The wedding took place at the home of Ruth's parents, Mr. and Mrs. Edgar Wells, who lived on Newberry...
    • Wedding Dresses--Nicholas

    • Bridal Gowns
    • This sheer dress, worn over a simple chemise, belonged to Ruth Wells. Ruth wore this dress at her marriage to Warren A. Nicholas on May 25, 1914. The wedding took place at the home of Ruth's parents, Mr. and Mrs. Edgar Wells, who lived on Newberry...
    • Wedding Dresses--Nicholas

    • Bridal Gowns
    • This sheer dress, worn over a simple chemise, belonged to Ruth Wells. Ruth wore this dress at her marriage to Warren A. Nicholas on May 25, 1914. The wedding took place at the home of Ruth's parents, Mr. and Mrs. Edgar Wells, who lived on Newberry...
    • Wedding Dresses--Taylor

    • wedding hat
    • Laura Imogene Schanck wore this straw hat, decorated with feathers and ribbons, when she married Dr. John Lincoln Taylor on June 1, 1895. The wedding took place at the home of Laura's parents, Mr. and Mrs. George Schanck, who lived on Sprague...
    • Wedding Dresses--Taylor

    • wedding hat
    • Laura Imogene Schanck wore this straw hat, decorated with feathers and ribbons, when she married Dr. John Lincoln Taylor on June 1, 1895. The wedding took place at the home of Laura's parents, Mr. and Mrs. George Schanck, who lived on Sprague...
    • Wedding Dresses--Taylor

    • hats
    • Laura Imogene Schanck wore this straw hat, decorated with feathers and ribbons, when she married Dr. John Lincoln Taylor on June 1, 1895. The wedding took place at the home of Laura's parents, Mr. and Mrs. George Schanck, who lived on Sprague...
    • Wedding Dresses--Wright

    • Bridal Gowns
    • Irene Belle Triggs wore this beautiful dress at her marriage to Frank Joseph Wright on October 12, 1910. The under layer of the dress is make of silk chiffon and the top layer is silk crepe with the overskirt banded in satin. The pair were married...
    • Wedding Dresses--Wright

    • Bridal Gowns
    • Irene Belle Triggs wore this beautiful dress at her marriage to Frank Joseph Wright on October 12, 1910. The under layer of the dress is make of silk chiffon and the top layer is silk crepe with the overskirt banded in satin. The pair were married...
    • Wedding Dresses--Wright

    • Bridal Gowns
    • Irene Belle Triggs wore this beautiful dress at her marriage to Frank Joseph Wright on October 12, 1910. The under layer of the dress is make of silk chiffon and the top layer is silk crepe with the overskirt banded in satin. The pair were married...
    • Wedding Dresses--Wright

    • Bridal Gowns
    • Irene Belle Triggs wore this beautiful dress at her marriage to Frank Joseph Wright on October 12, 1910. The under layer of the dress is make of silk chiffon and the top layer is silk crepe with the overskirt banded in satin. The pair were married...
    • Wedding Dresses--Wright

    • Bridal Gowns
    • Irene Belle Triggs wore this beautiful dress at her marriage to Frank Joseph Wright on October 12, 1910. The under layer of the dress is make of silk chiffon and the top layer is silk crepe with the overskirt banded in satin. The pair were married...
    • Abana Springs, Libertyville, Ill.

    • bottled water; businesses; drinking water; Newberry Avenue; springs; Abana Spring;
    • Frederick Grabbe established his bottling company in Libertyville in 1880 and marketed the clear drinking water as Abana Spring. The original well pictured here was located on Newberry Avenue, but when this dried up a second well was struck on what...
    • Armistice Day

    • Armistice Day; street views; Milwaukee Avenue
    • A crowd assembles for an Armistice Day celebration on Milwaukee Avenue in downtown Libertyville. In the foreground is the Libertyville Band.
    • Central School, Libertyville, Ill. (later view)

    • Central School; elementary schools; grammar schools; high schools; school buildings; Schools;
    • Color view of Central School which was originally built in 1886 on School Street. It was expanded in 1906 to accommodate the growing population. Beginning in 1898 high school classes met on the second floor until they met in their own building on...
    • First Church of Christ, Scientist

    • Cizek collection; Christian Science churches;
    • This church building was erected in 1905 as St. John's Lutheran Church, located at Park Place and Broadway in Libertyville. In 1923 a group of Christian Scientists formed the Christian Science Society in Libertyville. On July 6, 1944 they became...
    • Des Plaines River

    • forests; Des Plaines River;
    • An unidentified man enjoys fishing on the scenic Des Plaines River. The French explorers Marquette and Joliet were the first known white men to have used the river in 1673; at that time they simply called the Des Plaines the "river of portage."...
    • Felix's Tavern

    • Cizek collection; Taverns; The Island
    • This small tavern opened in 1949 at 114 East Cook Street and remained in business there until 1967. The owner/operator was Felix Antonevich. In 1967 he moved the bar to a free-standing building in back of the 114 East Cook Street location and the...
    • Maxon Professional Building

    • Cizek collection ;
    • This building, located on East Cook Street, was built in the late 1950s by Don E. Maxon, a Libertyville attorney whose office was also located here. The building also housed offices for the Boehm & Ray Insurance Company and John S. Horner,...
    • Scanlon's Paints

    • Cizek collection; Paint stores
    • Located at 113 East Cook Street, Scanlan's Paints sold a wide variety of paints and wallpaper, including O'Brien Paints, as well as art materials and wall and floor tile. They also offered an interior decoration service, Joanies' Interiors. They...
    • House of Mura

    • Cizek collection; Dress shops
    • The House of Mura sold women's apparel and opened for business in 1953. It stayed in business for about 5 years.
    • Smitty's Body Shop

    • Cizek collection; Body shops (automobile)
    • Smitty's did a wide variety of automobile work, including repairing minor damages to auto bodies, repainting, refurbishing and washing cars. The business began in 1952 and in 1959 it moved to 510 North First Street to more a commodious location and...
    • Libertyville Band on Parade

    • Libertyville Band; marching bands; musical instruments; musicians; uniforms;
    • Here comes the band! March down the streets of Libertyville with director George Mitchell and members of the Libertyville Band in this turn-of-the-century postcard.
    • The Record Shop

    • Cizek collection; Phonograph stores; LPs; Record stores; Records; Phonographs
    • The Record Shop opened at 118 East Cook Avenue in 1956 just east of the Ace Hardware building on the north side of the street. They sold jazz, popular, classical, ethnic, western, folk and Latin American LP phonographs. Another store under the same...
    • Village Pantry Restaurant

    • Cizek collection ;
    • The Village Pantry, a small restaurant on east Cook Street, advertised home cooking and take-out orders. They served breakfast and plate lunches and their specialties included home made pies and soups. They served spaghetti every Wednesday. One of...
    • The Old Millwork Building

    • Cizek collection
    • E. A. Ellis ran this business at 429 North First Street on the west side of the street just north of Cook Street for many years. It was located across the street from Libertyville Lumber Company.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK