Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: C. E. Wheelock & Co., Peoria, Ill.
(51 results)



Display: 50

    • Main Street, Peoria, Ill.

    • Streets--Illinois--Peoria; Streets--Illinois--Peoria--1900-1910
    • View is looking North on the 200 block of Main St from Washington (between Washington and Adams). LUD Hotel was built in 1904 located at 217 Main St, [1920 name was changed to Columbus Hotel]. Tripp Books was at 206 Main St and Central Engraving...
    • Main Street, Peoria, Ill.

    • Streets--Illinois--Peoria; Streets--Illinois--Peoria--1900-1910
    • View is looking North on the 200 block of Main St from Washington (between Washington and Adams). LUD Hotel was built in 1904 located at 217 Main St, [1920 name was changed to Columbus Hotel]. Tripp Books was at 206 Main St and Central Engraving...
    • Hale Memorial Church, Peoria, Ill.

    • Hale Memorial Methodist Episcopal Church (Peoria, Ill.); Churches, Protestant--Illinois; Methodist Episcopal churches--Illinois--Peoria--1900-1920
    • Hale Memorial Methodist Episcopal Church was built & dedicated in 1901. Named after Asahel Hale who is buried in Kickapoo Township.
    • Perry Ave. Peoria, Ill.

    • Streets--Illinois--Peoria; Streets--Illinois--Peoria--1900-1910
    • View of residential area of Perry Street with horse drawn carriages and two girls with a bicycle as it appeared in 1905.
    • Water Works, Peoria, Ill.

    • Water treatment plants--Illinois; Public utilities--Illinois
    • Located at N E Adams and Lorentz Sts. (now 100 Lorentz Ave). Built in 1890, it is currently still standing.
    • High School, Peoria, Ill.

    • Historic buildings--Peoria (Ill.); High school Buildings--Peoria (Ill.)
    • This building is the 3rd Peoria High School building built in 1884 and used until 1916 when a new campus was built at 1636 North North St, the current location. It was razed about 1955.
    • Scene in Bradley Park, Peoria, Ill.

    • Parks--Illinois; Laura Bradley Park (Peoria, Ill.); Peoria (Ill.)--Peoria Park District; Park districts--Illinois
    • Laura Bradley Park in located at 1314 Park Road (Farmington Road and Main St). It was donated to the Peoria Park District in 1881 by Lydia Moss Bradley in memory of her daughter. The Pavilion was built in 1902.
    • Union Congregational Church, Peoria, Ill.

    • Union Congregational Church (Peoria, Ill.); Churches, Protestant--Illinois; Congregational churches--Illinois--Peoria--1900-1920
    • Began in 1884 as a Sabbath school and expanded in 1885 & 87. Became Union Congregational Church in 1893, located at Illinois & Dechman Avenues. A new church was built in 1917 at 1904 Knoxville Ave.
    • Fountain in Bradley Park, Peoria, Ill.

    • Parks--Illinois; Laura Bradley Park (Peoria, Ill.); Peoria (Ill.)--Peoria Park District; Park districts--Illinois
    • Laura Bradley Park in located at 1314 Park Road (Farmington Road and Main St). It was donated to the Peoria Park District in 1881 by Lydia Moss Bradley in memory of her daughter. The fountain was situated in the ""Perigold"" (a pavilion) which was...
    • The Palm House, Glen Oak Park, Peoria, Ill.

    • Parks--Illinois; Glen Oak Park (Peoria, Ill.); Peoria (Ill.)--Peoria Park District; Park buildings--Illinois; Park districts--Illinois
    • This is the old Palm House opened in 1896 at the opening of the Glen Oak Park. It was demolished in 1951. It is the current location of the zoo.
    • Levee Park, Peoria, Ill.

    • Parks--Illinois; Levee Park (Peoria, Ill.); Peoria (Ill.)--Peoria Park District; Park districts--Illinois
    • Dedicated on June 12, 1915 Levee Park was a steamboat landing. It covered 10 acres of the Peoria Lake, two blocks south of the court house. Later it was renamed Eckwood Park in honor of former Mayor Edward N. Woodruff and Sherman Eckley,...
    • Tower on Grand View Driveway, Peoria, Ill.

    • Historic buildings--Peoria (Ill.)
    • The Grand View Tower stood at the corner of Kingman & Grand View Drive. It was built between 1905-06. The completed tower was 89' tall and 450' above the river level and one could see for 30 miles. The tower was razed in1943 to assist with the war...
    • Dry Run, Bradley Park, Peoria, Ill.

    • Parks--Illinois; Laura Bradley Park (Peoria, Ill.); Peoria (Ill.)--Peoria Park District; Park districts--Illinois
    • Laura Bradley Park in located at 1314 Park Road (Farmington Road and Main St). It was donated to the Peoria Park District in 1881 by Lydia Moss Bradley in memory of her daughter. The Dry Run Creek bed runs through the park.
    • Anshai Emeth Temple, Peoria, Ill.

    • Anshai Emeth Temple (Peoria, Ill.); Synagogue architecture--Illinois
    • A Jewish congregation officially organized as a congregation in 1859. Name means ""People of Truth."" This is the second temple in Peoria, dedicated in 1898 and built of Lake Superior sandstone. It is located on the northwest corner of Monroe &...
    • Westminster Presbyterian Church, Peoria, Ill.

    • Westminster Presbyterian Church (Peoria, Ill.); Churches, Protestant--Illinois; Presbyterian churches--Illinois--Peoria--1900-1920
    • Built in 1898 at 1420 West Moss Ave. Burned in Feb 1985 & razed in September of that year. New church was erected at the same location.
    • Bradley Park from ""The Uplands"", Peoria, Ill.

    • Parks--Illinois; Laura Bradley Park (Peoria, Ill.); Peoria (Ill.)--Peoria Park District; Park districts--Illinois; Pavilions--Illinois
    • Laura Bradley Park in located at 1314 Park Road (Farmington Road and Main St). It was donated to the Peoria Park District in 1881 by Lydia Moss Bradley in memory of her daughter. The Pavilion was completed in 1905.
    • Academy of Our Lady, Peoria, Ill.

    • Historic buildings--Peoria (Ill.); High school Buildings--Peoria (Ill.)
    • This all girl Catholic High School was established in 1863 on the corner of Bryan & Madison at 412 NE Madison. It merged with Spalding Institute and Bergen High School to become Peoria Notre Dame in 1988. It was razed in 1957.
    • Pavilion, Glen Oak Park, Peoria, Ill.

    • Historic buildings--Peoria (Ill.); Parks--Illinois; Glen Oak Park (Peoria, Ill.); Pavilions--Illinois
    • Glen Oak Park is located at 2218 North Prospect Road. The original address was Abingdon & North Perry Ave. The Pavilion was build in 1895-96 at a cost of $24,000. The Architects were William Reeves and John Baille from Peoria. The total square...
    • Deaconess Hospital, Peoria, Ill.

    • Historic buildings--Peoria (Ill.); Hospital buildings; Peoria (Ill.)
    • Deaconess Home & Hospital began in 1898 at 221 North Glen Oak Avenue, a red brick house purchased from Lydia Moss Bradley. In 1910 a new building was erected which was 5 stories, 62'x75' in Renaissance architecture bringing the total beds to 60. In...
    • Scene in Al Fresco Park, Peoria, Ill.

    • Parks--Illinois; Al Fresco Park (Peoria, Ill.)
    • This park was open between 1905-1929 from May-September of each year in Peoria Heights off Galena Road. It was located at 4602 North Galena Road. The St Louis World's Fair contributed some statues, benches and lights and the Ferris Wheel which was...
    • Shady Beach and Upper Free Bridge, Peoria, Ill.

    • Bridges--Illinois--Peoria--1900-1920; Illinois River (Ill.)--Pictorial works; Waterfronts--Illinois--Illinois River--1900-1920
    • View of the Illinois River waterfront about 1911 with bridge and boats. Later known as Waterworks Park, it is at the foot of Lorentz Street. Bridge built by the Milwaukee Bridge Co. Built in 1888, condemned in 1942-43. Torn down in 1946.
    • The Belvedere on Grand View Drive, Peoria, ILL.

    • Streets--Illinois--Peoria; Parks--Illinois--Peoria; Pergolas--Illinois; Peoria (Ill.)--Peoria Park District; Park districts--Illinois
    • View of the pergola at Gibson Point on Grand View Drive. It was named "The Belvedere." It was among the first structures built along the road. Constructed in 1906 near Roosevelt Road.
    • Jefferson Street, Peoria, Ill.

    • Streets--Illinois--Peoria; Streets--Illinois--Peoria--1900-1910
    • View from SW Jefferson looking NE toward Main Street. Between Fulton & Franklin on Main Street. Niagara Hotel built in 1903 was at 108 South Jefferson.
    • Soldier's Monument, Peoria, Ill.

    • Monuments & memorials--Illinois--Peoria--1910-1920; Streets--Illinois--Peoria--1910-1920
    • View of the Soldiers Monument (WWI) from Main St NE to the 100 block of North Adams. Hotel Mayer is on the corner of Adams and Hamilton (where trolley car is located in photo).
    • Golf House, Country Club Links, Peoria, Ill.

    • Golf courses--Illinois--Peoria County
    • This is the Golf House about 1915, providing a view of the Illinois River Valley. It is not currently standing. This private golf course was founded in 1897 on 27 acres. The location is 4700 North Grandview Drive in Peoria Heights.
    • First Methodist Episcopal Church, Peoria, Ill.

    • First Methodist Episcopal Church (Peoria, Ill.); Churches, Protestant--Illinois; Christian churches--Illinois--Peoria--1900-1920
    • Built in English Gothic style in 1916 at N Perry and Hamilton, it is still in use. The dimensions of the building are 132' by 107' .
    • Part of Wholesale District, Peoria, Ill.

    • Streets--Illinois--Peoria; Streets--Illinois--Peoria--1900-1910
    • View of Liberty Street to the Illinois River. Cross street is SW Washington. Red brick building on far left is Colburn, Birks & Co. at 218-24 SW Washington. Front left corner white building is 229 SW Washington. The Rock Island Station with the...
    • Along the River Front, Peoria, Ill.

    • Parks--Illinois; Laura Bradley Park (Peoria, Ill.); Peoria (Ill.)--Peoria Park District; Park districts--Illinois
    • Dedicated on June 12, 1915, Levee Park was a steamboat landing. It was later renamed Eckwood Park in honor of Sherman Eckley and Edward N. Woodruff. The steamboat pictured is the Columbia. The Columbia sank Jul 5 ,1918 after a submerged tree in the...
    • Looking Through Sunken Garden, Glen Oak Park, Peoria, Ill.

    • Parks--Illinois; Glen Oak Park (Peoria, Ill.); Peoria (Ill.)--Peoria Park District; Park buildings--Illinois; Park districts--Illinois
    • A view of the Sunken Garden in Glen Oak Park. Built in 1910 out of a nursery plot near the Perry Ave & Abingdon Street entrance, the Botanical Garden is now located here.
    • Wading Pool and Japanese Garden, Laura Bradley Park, Peoria, Ill.

    • Parks--Illinois; Laura Bradley Park (Peoria, Ill.); Peoria (Ill.)--Peoria Park District; Park districts--Illinois
    • Laura Bradley Park is located at 1314 Park Road (Farmington Road and Main St.). It was donated to the Peoria Park District in 1881 by Lydia Moss Bradley in memory of her daughter. This view is of the Japanese Garden, Pagoda and Wading Pool in the...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK