Submit applications to:
Secretary of State Jesse White
Persons with Disabilities
License Plates/Placard Unit
501 S. Second St., Rm. 541
Springfield, IL 62756
217-782-2285 • 800-252-2904 (V)
Printed by authority of the State of Illinois.
April 2008 — 25M — VSD 574.4
The Parking Program for Persons with
Disabilities is a vital program for many
Illinois residents with disabilities. My
office has made significant progress in
reducing fraud and abuse of disability
license plates and parking placards. As a
result, our program has received praise
from the disability community and law
enforcement agencies across the nation.
In Illinois, the illegal use of a parking
space reserved for persons with disabili-ties
now carries a minimum $250 fine.
Unauthorized use of disability plates or a
parking placard carries a minimum $500
fine, driver's license suspension and/or
revocation of the plates or placard.
As a user of this program, please ensure
that your disability plates or parking plac-ard
is being used accordingly.
Remember, disability plates and placards
are not transferable. The authorized
holder must be present and must enter or
exit the vehicle at the time the parking
privileges are being used.
For more information, please contact my
office's Persons with Disabilities License
Illinois Secretary of State
• Applications for disability plates or parking plac-ards
are available at your local Driver Services
facility, at www.cyberdriveillinois.com, or by con-tacting
the Persons with Disabilities License
Plates/Placard Unit at the address below.
• A licensed physician must certify on the applica-tion
that you have one of the six specific qualify-ing
disabilities. You also must include your date of
birth, gender and driver’s license or state ID card
• If applying for disability plates, a copy of the regis-tration
card or title is required if the vehicle is reg-istered
in the applicant’s name. If the vehicle is
not registered in the applicant’s name, a copy of
the Certificate of Title or Manufacturer’s
Certificate of Origin is required.
• If current plates expire within 90 days, submit:
Certification for Persons with Disabilities Plates or
Placard; Application for Reclass to Disability
Plates; and a check or money order payable to
Secre tary of State for $107 ($78 renewal fee, $29
• If current plates do not expire within 90 days, sub-mit:
Certification for Persons with Disabilities
Plates or Placard and $29 replacement fee.
• Vanity and personalized disability plates are avail-able.
For more information, visit Pick-a-Plate at
PARKING PROGRAM FOR PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES